D24T.com  

Go Back   D24T.com > Technical Discussion Area > Help! My car died!

Old 07-05-2021, 06:33 PM

Vehicle: 1984 Volvo 240 D24 NA
Post Engine not starting after sitting over night.

So I recently bought my diesel Volvo 240 and unfortunately I wreaked it the day I bought it. I had the car towed back to my house and started pulling the wreaked stuff off and had to take radiator fan off cause it was contacting the radiator. I got in the car, started it and moved it into my garage. So after pulling the whole front end off I tried to start it and nothing it would only crank. I thought the problem might be the shut off solenoid so I replaced it and attempted to bleed the injector lines and still nothing. I also just replaced 5 out of the 6 glow plugs and still nothing. It sounds like it gets close to starting but never ends up doing so. I am new to diesel engines and need some help with the basic and ideas of what could be wrong. Thanks
Old 07-08-2021, 01:22 PM

Default Update

I can get the car started by someone spraying diesel into the intake and cranking it over for around 45 seconds. It will stay idling but smokes white smoke and when driving it around it seems to tick a lot louder than before. Could this be an off time injection pump or something worse like a bad head. Thanks
Old 07-09-2021, 09:14 AM
Supporting Member

Vehicle: '86 745, '83 764

Recommendation #1 -- DON'T continue attempting to start the engine or drive the car.

Something is wrong with the engine and you could do more damage by continuing to attempt to operate it.

The right move is to STOP attempting to start it, and instead figure out what the problem is, using an organized process of diagnostic steps. Once the problem is found and fixed, the engine will be ready to run again, assuming no lasting harm has been done (cross your fingers).