D24T.com  

Go Back   D24T.com > Technical Discussion Area > Diesel Engine and Drivetrain

Old 03-15-2011, 04:11 PM
Owner/admin

Default Towing with D24t equiped 7xx series??

Anyone here use their car to tow, if so how heavy? The manual says 3300lbs, which I was suprised as that seems pretty heavy. I'm trying to buy a trailer hitch so I can drag my flatbed trailer around from time to time, mostly just to go get it or if I need to haul something bulky but not heavy, rather than to use my gas guzzler truck. I was also thinking about doing a trailer brake controller just to help since it does have electric brakes. Any things to look out for towing with a 7 series I should look out for? I'm not a novice when it comes to driving with a trailer by any means, but I've never used a car to tow with. I know the engine will be up to the task! It will be doing some work!

Jason

Back again with a '84 760 GLE D24T/ZF

SOLD but not forgotten! 1984
760 Sedan, built D24Tic/ T-5 swapped

My engine build: http://www.d24t.com/showthread.php?t...t=engine+build
T-5 swap: http://d24t.com/showthread.php?399-W...to-quot-w-pics!
Old 03-15-2011, 06:57 PM

This is one of my favorite subjects!

I do a lot of towing with 7 series, and think they tow really well. Although far from recommended, I've towed a ~7,000 pound trailer from Portland, OR to Seattle, WA with a D24T 760, without any issues; the factory rating of 3,300lbs is definitely doable. I towed a ~5,000lb trailer 1,000 miles when I moved from Portland to Riverside, CA and now I tow my ~3,000lb sailboat all over the place. The sailboat tows easily and effortless, but the heavier loads were due to "emergencies" and required very careful driving.

The most important thing is great fade-free brakes plus good trailer brakes. A strong hitch, rear suspension, and cooling system are a must also.

My recommended upgrades for heavy towing with a D24T:
-Healthy cooling system with audible alarms on temp and coolant level