D24T.com  

Go Back   D24T.com > Forum Info > New Member Introductions

Old 11-01-2019, 05:47 AM

Vehicle: '90 240 D24, '73 144 B20, '96 850 AWD
Default Belgium; centre of the world

Hi everybody!

First of all: thanks for accepting me to this interesting forum, I'll do my very best to contribute!

My name is Pieter and I live in Belgium, birthplace of a lot of Volvo's. I've grown up with Volvo's as my dad drove about 15-ish of 'em for his work. Two of those were D24's. Since I have a driver's license, I drove a 850 2.5 10V to 601 000km (400 000-ish miles), a 850 AWD to 300 000km (200 000 miles) and a 144 which has currently 500 000km (eh, 310 000 miles), all of those on LPG. Very nice and very affordable. I still have the last two, however the AWD is for sale.
My daily nowadays is a 1990 240 D24 with 650 000km. Amazing how slow a car can be with such a big engine.. Anyways, I like it a lot and it does good work. I'm a freelance technician, so it is mostly loaded with gear and has to get me as close as possible to agricultural machines that are in trouble. It's very obedient. Just this morning, I drove over a potato field to go fix a harvester in the rain. Makes some heads turn

Anyway, I recently bought a 740 DTic as a donor, because the 240 is just too slow. I'm pretty curious to learn about the experiences you guys had!

So far I've been thinking how I am going to do it though. Preferably, I'd use the 740 engine mounts and oil pan and such, but it is not plug and play. I'd like to compare the front axles to see if a switch is possible. But first I've got to strip the 740

I'll throw in some photo's later.

Greetings from Belgium!
Pieter
Old 11-01-2019, 10:17 AM
Supporting Member

Welcome to the forum!

Your swap might be easier than you think. An axle (front crossmember?) swap is not required. The one I have seen used the 240 engine mounts and oil pan (with modification for turbo oil drain) to maintain the engine tilt for fit in the smaller engine compartment.