D24T.com  

Go Back   D24T.com > Technical Discussion Area > Diesel Engine and Drivetrain

Old 11-18-2019, 04:26 PM
Administrator

Vehicle: 1985 Volvo 740 GLE turbo diesel
Thumbs up Rescuing my Volvo after 3 years parked

Hello everyone,

Well the time has come to move my Volvo from a lot near my old house to my new house. It has been parked outside for nearly 3 years, It "ran when parked", but hasn't been started since. I'm making a list of things that need to be checked prior to starting, moving, and finally driving.

Naturally the list is on a different computer. I'll post it to this thread for the group to review and comment.

The eventual plan will be to remove the engine, configure it to start and run outside of the car, and start fixing the many oil leaks and the terrible sludgy mess. It will be a fun project as I've never done something like that before. The new house has a garage and I can't wait to use it!

Thanks, Jim

1985 Volvo 740 GLE turbo diesel
Old 11-18-2019, 09:44 PM
Supporting Member

More important than "ran when parked" is "started well when parked," meaning: Was it always easy to start, at the time it was parked?

If so, you will likely have an easy time of it, as nothing much will have changed over the 3 years. Diesel fuel does not go bad as quickly or easily as gasoline. Of course, rodents could have chewed thru the wires.

In my experience, the hardest one I had to start, after an unknown number of years, required a quarter teaspoon of motor oil poured into each cylinder. Then it roared to life immediately. For some reason the rings were not sealing enough to build sufficient compression.

You will need a good strong battery, good jumper cables, battery charger.

The most unpleasant part for me is cleaning all the glass (inside & out) and the mildew in the interior before even wanting to drive it any distance. Don't ruin your windshield with shaggy windshield wipers.
Old 11-19-2019, 10:26 AM
Supporting Member

Vehicle: '86 745, '83 764