D24T.com  

Go Back   D24T.com > Technical Discussion Area > Diesel Engine and Drivetrain
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-26-2010, 08:12 AM

Question Source for tools

Hi all.

I just purchased an '82 245 D6 (N/A), with unknown service history, 406k kms, and I want to change the camshaft timing belt (IP belt seems new).
I've followed the greenbooks, and I want to get (with the least amount of money) the necessary tools to do it properly.

Although mechanically inclined, I'm not a mechanic, so I want to do things without shortcuts and not inventing too much.

So far I gathered that I need:

. 5187-3 - Wrench - vibration damper (lock pulley)
. 5188-1 - Wrench with extension arm: for vibration damper center bolt (or 27mm socket)
. 5202-0 - Puller; for idler pulley (pulley withdraw)
. 5197-2 - Belt tension gauge: timing gear belts and pump drive
. 5199-8 - Wrench: front and rear camshaft gears (sprocket holder)

Where to get'em?!

To change just the cam timing belt, will I actually need to remove the valve cover to set the cylinder 1 at TDC?
On a side note, it seems that the actual valve cover is leaking a bit; previous owner told me that even if I change the gasket, it will start leaking quite soon. Is that right? Are there a better gasket than others?

By the way... water pump should be changed at the same time, right?

Thanks in advance
Old 11-26-2010, 08:36 AM
Owner/admin