D24T.com  

Go Back   D24T.com > Technical Discussion Area > Member Showroom > The Garage
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-06-2010, 09:02 PM

Vehicle: 83 245 D24T
Default 1983 245 D24 to D24T

Im sort of in the middle of this engine swap. Seems like there ar some experienced folks here. Im pretty new to the D24T but have owned a number of old Volvos. I have already done this to my VW Rabbit truck, and the power difference is so much needed just to contend with today's traffic. I have a D24T from an 84 760 which needs oversized pistons in a bad way. Still sorting a source for those out. Im not familiar with the different transmissions but the 245 has a 4 speed with the OD unit. M46 I think. Works but is making some noise. Anyway here is the 245. Solid, no rust, a quarter million miles. The current D24 is tired and runs like a slug trying to get away from a salt shaker.

Here is the Caddy. Still in progress.

Here is the D24T beit came out and was tore down
Old 03-07-2010, 06:12 PM

Send a message via AIM to Slobodan

D24T sits more upright, and the D24 is slanted a bit.

I found it easier to mod the 240 cross member so my D24T sits almost straight up. but more like in between where the 760 and 240 D24's sit. I did this so I had more room for the compressor to fit. I've heard of people having issues with the turbo fitment when they leave the D24 sitting in the original position in the 240's.

So, I not only had to mod the crossmember but I HAD to use the D24T bell housing for the M46 transmission. the transmission sits at a slant away from me. So the stick leans more towards the passenger, I could mod the shifter holder and rod to sit in the stock location but I don't care. Its fine.

I love my D24T + 240!
Old 03-07-2010, 08:05 PM
Supporting Member

Vehicle: '86 745, '83 764

Where are you located? Somewhere rusty by the looks of that D24T... I have a motor from Pennsylvania that looks similar to yours.