D24T.com  

Go Back   D24T.com > Forum Info > New Member Introductions

Old 05-09-2013, 02:23 PM

Default Newbie: Should I buy or convert?

I live in the Monterey Bay Area of California and own a '92 740 turbo.
I'd love to have a diesel so my question is this; should I drop a d24t and manual transmission (M46, M47, or T5?) in my current car or should I just keep my eyes pealed for an older original?

In my mind it would be a lot of fun to do the conversion, plus I would still have a car with an airbag. On the other hand, I have no real experience with working on cars so it might be too far over my head (a good way to learn?). What do you guys think? What resources should I know about (greenbooks, tools, good threads to read, etc.)?

Feel free to PM me.

I need as much help as I can get so thank you!
Old 05-09-2013, 11:19 PM

Vehicle: 85 745, 84Suburban 96Ram

Welcome aboard

I'm just outside Watsonville, and have everything but a good motor/tranny you would need to convert a car.
I even have parts for a VIN conversion if you like to play like that

The 91 is a little nicer car in several ways, but poses a SMOG problem as the motor is supposed to be no older than the chassis you put it in.
The swap is pretty easy as such things go, after all , the D24 will run fine with only one wire hooked up, and the car itself has all provisions for the diesel motor.

Lots more work, but the E300D Mercedes motor runs fantastic, and would be legal in your car, as would a VW TDI.

Alternately, 90% of the parts from your car would bolt right to an 83-86 diesel.
Old 05-10-2013, 07:16 PM

Thanks for the input.