D24T.com  

Go Back   D24T.com > Technical Discussion Area > Member Showroom > The Garage

Old 05-28-2015, 01:21 AM

Default Lifted 79 245 D24T

I joined about a year and half ago when I bought a 245 diesel and was looking into turboing it. My back failed me and unfortunately I had to sell it before I had a chance to fix it up. So here I am again about a year and a half later and doing okay. A friend said he'd sell me his wrecked 245 with a D24T in it (he's a member here) for a donor for my lifted 245. So I'm pretty stoked and looking forward to the swap.

My background is pretty deep when it comes to 240's and I'm best known for building "pretty" cars that lean mostly towards modified street and/or track cars. I've owned more 240's than most of you would ever believe, so I'll just say I've owned a lot. Currently have 8 240's in various states. But this is only my 5th diesel and the first turbo.

I'll probably drive this clunker for a couple months to get familiar with the D24T and then pull the motor and prep it for installing it into my lifted 79 245. Not sure how crazy I'm going to get with it yet, if at all, but it will at least be sanitary. I can't do it any other way unfortunately.

I picked up my 79 245 as a lowered daily driver (from the same member) that had a leaking heater core. They didn't feel like fixing the heater core/blower fan so they sold the car to me cheaply. I had been wanting another lifted 240 daily driver (I've done 2 other lifted 242t's in the past) so this seemed like the right car at the right time.