PDA

View Full Version : looking for 740 td parts

morgan1227
01-30-2013, 09:13 AM
Hi everyone, I'm new to Volvos and diesels, but I purchased a 85 740TD for my daughter, who will be driving soon. It is definitely a project car, with all the wiring issues, but there is much to like.

Parts are much more hard to come by than I thought, I have been to local junkyards and scoured the web, but a really high % are gassers. Have managed to find most things, but two parts that I can't find (other than at dealers for big $$) are the EGR relay 1362422 and the EGR Vacuum Valve 1257971, along with some other misc parts. Does anyone have parts around from a part out, or know of a scrap yard that has a mid-80s 740 or 760 TD?

thanks
Bill in AZ

ngoma
01-30-2013, 03:39 PM
Welcome!

Seems like a lot of folks remove the EGR stuff. It doesn't age well, and probably never was very effective, even when new. Post a couple of photos of the items and you might find that folks have that stuff laying around, willing to send it out to you.

745 TurboGreasel
02-01-2013, 12:00 AM
LOL $800??? I probably have those. You probably don't need them anyway, all it will do is glue soot to your intake.

Also, does the pic show a turbo pump on an NA car?
http://www.volvopartswebstore.com/showAssembly.aspx?ukey_product=1143533&ukey_assembly=234804

morgan1227
02-01-2013, 06:50 AM
By turbo pump, I assume you refer to the vac valve that I am missing. It is part #20 on the drawing, I also need connector #20a and the bracket in front of #20, which does not appear to have a number, but is held in by #21 screw.

As soon as I figure out how to post pictures, I'll put one up.