PDA

View Full Version : Hard to start after injector pump belt replacement

palmtree
03-15-2012, 01:31 PM
I just had my IP belt replaced in a shop. The car runs fine but is a real pain to get started in the morning. Before the belt replacement the car always started almost instantly. Now it cranks for what seems like forever before it will finally start with some depression of the accelerator. I never had to touch the accelerator pedal to start it before the belt replacement. I am pretty new to this car and diesels in general. Is there some kind of adjustment he made when replacing the belt that makes it start different from before?
Thanks

Volvoist
03-15-2012, 04:33 PM
I am guessing that the injection timing (hopefully not the cam timing) is off. That or the over tight belt has worn the injection pump input shaft bushing, and is now sucking air. It could be possible that you have a bad glow plug, but you'll need to check the timing first.
You can check for air by looking at the line between the fuel filter and injection pump (assuming you have or install clear tubing). If you see bubbles, you are sucking air, most likely from that shaft seal or bushing. Whatever you do, DO NOT, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, USE STARTING FLUID (AKA ETHER) TO START THE ENGINE! Immediate damage can, and will, result.

v8volvo
03-21-2012, 11:47 AM
How much smoke during cranking and after starting? More than before, or less? Rough running for the first couple minutes after a cold start? Minimal smoke during cranking before starting and fairly smooth running after startup is a likely sign of air ingress into the fuel system. Lots of smoke and poor running during and after starting points to incorrect (retarded) injection timing.