PDA

View Full Version : Change throttle shaft seal

ian2000t
09-20-2011, 04:50 AM
The throttle shaft seal on my pump is leaking. First it started weping when I started it up after 2 weeks of standing still (when the headgasket went), but on revving the engine it stopped weeping and hasn't really given me an issue since.

Few thousand miles later and it seems it's puddling often when idling now. Also when engine switched off after running, you can hear a little noise coming from the throttle shaft, like it's slowly sucking air into the pump, which is made worse if you rock the throttle shaft slightly.

Is the throttle shaft seal something that can be easily done with the pump in the car? I am no diesel expert and have never taken a pump apart before, but will give most things a try - so far have done headgasket, cambelt, IP timing, injectors on it... so if it's no more complex than those I'll give it a try.

ngoma
09-20-2011, 11:03 AM
Possible, yes, probably one of the easier IP seals to replace with the IP installed. If you have successfully done headgasket, cambelt, IP timing, and injectors, you have proven your abilities. IP throttle shaft seal is similar skill level, but more like working on a sewing machine.

I thought I had bookmarked some pictorials but cannot find them, here is a link that has helpful photos and descriptions (note the bracketry and springs are different, as are some of the pieces in the governor spring assembly):
http://www.vwdiesel.net/forum/index.php?topic=24323.0

Ball-end long allen wrench (5? or 6mm?) is strongly suggested to remove the IP cover screws.

Some important points:
1. Clean area as best as possible, leave IP full of fuel (don't drain) so dirt on the edges will tend to spill out rather than fall into the IP.
2. Mark (scribe) position of accelerator lever on splined throttle shaft before removing.