PDA

View Full Version : Car hard to start in the morning (Socal - so cold should not be a factor)

bryancald
10-04-2010, 08:22 AM
Hi,

I'm new to diesels and am not sure where to start.
I should note that this is a non-turbo motor.

One day leaving work, the glow plug light didn't illuminate.
It was a little hesitant to start, but not as much as now.
The next day it was back to normal. It stayed this way until as few weeks ago.

This symptom started all of the sudden. It used to start instantly.
One morning it took a couple of minutes to start and has been the same ever since.
Once it's been driven, it will start instantly - even if I screw up and forget to wait for the glow-plug cycle. Otherwise the engine runs perfect, good power, smooth idle.

Should I start at the glow plugs? Is there a way to test them?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Bryan

ngoma
10-04-2010, 10:23 AM
Can you clarify if the GP light is not lighting during the incidents when it is hard to start? As in: Can you make a correlation between No GP light = hard start; GP light = easy start? That would tell us the GPs were OK but the GP relay or control circuitry was intermittent.

bryancald
10-04-2010, 10:44 AM
GP light didn't light the one time. It has acted normal ever since.
GP lights for approx. ten seconds, still hard to start.

Thought of two other things:
Recently repaired leaky cell in battery (starter still cranks hard)
Seems to be easier to start if I turn the ignition off to restart GP cycle 3-4 times.

Jason
10-04-2010, 12:50 PM