PDA

View Full Version : '84 240 diesel questions

allczns
07-17-2010, 07:54 AM
hi all, not sure where to post this but will try here...
stumbled across a 1984 240 diesel sedan, manual trans. The owner says it came from Florida and has absolutely no rust, barn stored for the last several years, never winter driven. Runs but says it has excessive blowby and engine needs to be rebuilt(200,000 km). Asking $1500 Canadian (roughly the same in USD).
Busy here on the farm so I can't see it for probably two weeks.
This is not my favorite body style...didn't Volvo have any stylists on staff???
I've bought and sold several Ford trucks but I'm brand new to Volvo's so what are the points to look out for? For example, any secret places to look for body rot? And what about the engine? Rebuildable? Parts available? Affordable?
Any comments on the asking price? Seems rich to me considering the potential sour engine.
thanks,

Jason
07-17-2010, 08:31 AM
It should be running half way well to ask that much. At least he is being honest about it with the blow by. I would just hold out for a turbo diesel. With the turbo they burn cleaner, the block is harder, and they have piston oil squirters. The engines tend to last longer because of those things. As for rust, they rust everywhere so just take a close look everywhere. If you do end up doing a rebuilt, parts are available, they aren't super cheap but they aren't the most expensive either.

Jason

allczns
07-17-2010, 12:21 PM
I forgot about the harder block and piston squirters...good points. I might still look at it as part of my Volvo education. Prefer the look of the 740 tho'.
Glenn

Jason
07-18-2010, 07:28 AM
Well your on the right track then, only the 7 series cars were turbo. All the 2 series were NA d24s

Jason

v8volvo
07-18-2010, 01:13 PM