PDA

View Full Version : A Couple questions.

Travelteck
05-23-2010, 11:25 AM
First I would like to introduce my self.
I am a service technician for a German Concrete pump MFG
I work in the mechanical field and spend time teaching how to work on the machines we build. So I have a great value for experiance and learning from the Pros. No one is a pro on all topics.
I bought a 85 740 6 Cyl turbo diesel, runs like a strong engine but the ZF trany needed rebuilt. I removed the Trany and had it rebuilt works great.
I do look for advice of a couple things. I have been troubleshooting a smoking and hard starting issue when the engine is warm, I have changed the fuel filter and bled the injectors, I have studied the system and asked questions. I have replaced 5 out of 6 glow plugs. She starts fine when the glow plugs come on and pre heat, but after the engine is at operating temp and parked for 20 to 30 Minutes she cranks forever and starts with a huge cloud of unburned fuel smoke. I am thinking the injectors or at least some of them might be leaking into the cylinder when warm and flooding the engine. Am I on the right track? I am thinking about having the injectors rebuilt. Is this a good idea or is it better to go new, unit has about 166000 Miles on it.
Next issue exhaust leak some where under the intake manifold I want to replace the gaskets but am concerned the manifold could be cracked in a area I wont see untill I get it apart. Any common issues you have seen, do these manifolds crack or should I dive in for a gasket replace. With the excessive smoking the heater in the cabin is not nice to be in when sitting at a light:(
If I need to pull the injectors will I need a special tool like the big diesel motors? I was reading several other threads and is it slang to call the injectors squirters?
Thanks for any advice you can offer, I am in the pacific NW washington area.

EvoStevo
05-24-2010, 01:13 AM