PDA

View Full Version : d24t swaps

coronan
11-17-2013, 05:44 PM
Hello,
I wandered over here researching diesel engines for a swap I'm considering.

I have lots of experience with the 1.9l vw TDI.
But i'm looking for something a little more tow worthy. But still retain 30-40 mpg. Cummins are great but too heavy and overkill for what i need.

It looks like Jason has achieved great power with the D24t. Had it on the dyno yet?

1. What are long block dimensions?
2. Weight?
3. Average MPG stock?
4. How hard is it to get parts? Sources?
5. What are common failures of this power plant??? Recommended MODS?
6. Where can I find a long block on the west coast?

THANKS!!!

v8volvo
11-17-2013, 07:06 PM
Welcome to the board!

What are you trying to repower? TDI and D24T are pretty different setups in many ways, despite their common lineage they end up fitting and working pretty differently so your space constraints and power demands will determine what makes more sense.